Its More Than an Enthusiam Gap, Assholes

Wow the One Nation Rally beat out Glenn Beck’s RallyBig Newz Camperz:

Enthusiasm gap, schmenthusiasm gap. Without the benefit of months and months of advertising and promotion on Fox News Channel (in fact, I’m only aware of Ed Schultz on MSNBC doing any kind of TV promotion), the One Nation Working Together rally in Washington DC has gathered more supporters than Glenn Beck’s much ballyhooed rally, which I will lovingly refer to as “Whitestock”.

Preliminary satellite estimates put the crowd size at 175,000 to 200,000 at about noon EST.

The Democrats celebrated by promising not to let the Bush tax cuts expire for the ultra wealthy, and to expand the War on Terror to one more mystery country in 2011.

And yes, I was reminded once again that, for whatever disappointment we may feel with the way the progressive agenda has been stymied and diluted the past couple of years, every progressive voter needs to ask him/herself: Do I want to spend the next two years playing offense or defense?

Playing offense obviously.  Against ALL politicians who continue to grind America into the ground with their rush to the conservative “middle”.

Then get out in November and do the right thing.

Seriously, fuck you buddy.  The Democrats have screwed the base out of existence.  I’m gonna vote against Republicans, but no fucking way am I voting for a Democrat.  I will work as hard as I can to smash Democrats in the primaries.  I will let the assholes who get in know that their hostility to liberal American values will cost them their seat in the future.  But fuck them for thinking I’ll do this shit with enthusiasm.  I’ll just try my best to keep from puking.

As for the One Nation Rally, I’ll leave you with this:

The agenda of One Nation has always been secondary to the desire to reinforce support for President Obama and urge him and others to move their agenda. The underlying belief of the largest organizations mobilizing for October 2nd is that Obama is just like Roosevelt, and that people need to “make him do it”. This is a poor, myopic reading of history, and demonstrates the poverty of leadership of these huge organizations.

That the Democratic Party rarely acts upon, or even articulates, the concerns of most or any of the constituencies headed to Washington demonstrates that the leadership of the One Nation organizations are holding onto a past conception that no longer, and perhaps never, was true: that the Democratic Party is one for the working people of the country.

That last part really struck home for me.

