Invasion of Love and Privacy

The people who brought you prop hate have decided to go after existing gay marriages:

The sponsors of Proposition 8 asked the California Supreme Court on Friday to nullify the marriages of the estimated 18,000 same-sex couples who exchanged vows before voters approved the ballot initiative that outlawed gay unions.

The religious right is literally tearing families apart.  How many of these married couples have kids together?  What will there status be?

That doesn’t matter at all to the theocratic  freaks who would rather force the government stop anything not approved by their interpretation of the Christian Bible.  (And these are the types of people Obama is trying to reach out to).  They aren’t pro-family, they are pro-theocracy.

They need to be stopped.  They do not have the right to ruin lives because they think their God disapproves of homosexuality.  While I approve the irony and creativity behind the initiative to ban divorce in California (petition and more details here), I think we need to come up with a sharper plan of attack.  We need to find a way to make areas of discourse that have been regarded as politically safe, dangerous.  We need to shift the overton window of religion’s role in public life to expose the ridiculousness of allowing irrational faith of some to dictate the rights of all.

3 Responses

  1. I’ve also commented on this. Particularly bad is the fact that such little emphasis was placed on the nullification of pre-Proposition 8 marriages during the push for voters. I’m guessing the religious right wouldn’t have been quite so successful had they been more upfront about what Prop 8 could do to already existing marriages. Then again, maybe I’m giving them too much credit…

    [EDIT: Changed URL to point to augustine’s blog: journalnous.wordpress.com (there was a dash in there that pointed to an unregistered blog)]

  2. Thanks for that, I just noticed earlier today that I had my settings wrong! I’ve changed them in my profile, but apparently they don’t apply retroactively.

  3. Well said, my friend. Fighting bigotry in all forms is a rather essential offshoot of true democracy, I would say. Let’s hope the fight goes the way you and I would wish to see it…Happy Holidays, good sir.

Comments are closed.

