Not In Front of My Retarded Baby!

This photo from the Chicago Tribune appears to be channeling the Onion:

Could you please stop tearing apart my record so loudly? I just put my special needs child down for a nap. You remember my poor, Down syndrome baby, don’t you? The developmentally disabled child I carried to term despite knowing that he had special needs? The child who would be helpless without my constant care and attention? Well, he’s just nodded off, and if you continue to provide such damning evidence of my inexperience in both foreign and domestic policy, you’ll wake him.

You wouldn’t want him to start crying, would you?

The actual article up at the Tribune consists of Palin lamenting the publicity around her $150,000 fashion sense:

Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin insisted in an interview with the Tribune on Thursday that she did not accept $150,000 worth of designer clothes from the Republican Party and “that is not who we are.”

“That whole thing is just, bad!” she said. “Oh, if people only knew how frugal we are.

“It’s kind of painful to be criticized for something when all the facts are not out there and are not reported,” said Palin, saying the clothes are not worth $150,000 and were bought for the Republican National Convention. Still, she has been wearing pricey clothes at campaign events this fall. She said they will be given back, auctioned off or sent to charity.

Palin appears to be relying on her party faithful’s mistrust of the media and trust in her to override her spending spree.

Most of them, she said, haven’t even left the belly of her campaign plane.

Got that?  Most of them aren’t even being used for the campaign.  They are straight up being wasted, and Govenor Palin is attempting to use that to mollify her supporters.  Nothing calms an irate Republican like wasteful spending.

Shhhhhhhhhhh!

Oh I’m sorry governor, did I say that in front of your little bundle of political opportunity?

I’ll say this next part in just the gentlest whisper:  It appears McCain and the RNC think the money was well spent.

3 Responses

  1. “Don’t spread the wealth or raise taxes but make sure that more federal dollars are spent on special needs children.”

    Admirable sentiment Governor, but isn’t federal money taxpayer dollars? Isn’t giving money non producers “spreading the wealth”?

    I am all for helping the kids, but I am not for your blatant hypocrisy.

  2. I’m not a Palin supporter but I am the mom of a special needs child. I find your use of the word retarded very offensive. Have you no shame? Ever consider all the kids down syndrome who CAN read and think and have feelings? You really should consider your hurtful words before using them again. People with special needs deserve your respect, not your ridicule, especially for political purposes.

  3. ralfast,
    Good catch! Governor Palin and logic are not friends.

    mary,
    I was adopting the language of the Onion article to make a point, and I think it was properly done. I think there is a line between avoiding bad language and being overly sensitive.

    Palin wear’s her child with Down Syndrome like a purple heart awarded by Jesus. When you combine that with her comments and actions on rape, and her views towards her own daughter’s pregnancy, you see a politician who treats her children like reusable political props.

    Reading my post it is absolutely clear I am ridiculing Palin. While I can’t be sure of whether or not her child is mentally retarded (most people with Down Syndrome are), she is certainly milking the possibility for political gain.

Comments are closed.

