2011: Of World’s End and Religious Insanity

I was surfing the radio late last night driving back from an ill-advised feast at the Silver Diner.  I landed on something that sounded like Church talk, so I settled in to listen.  At first I thought I was listening to a disturbed caller , but it soon became clear the disjointed voice and confused ramblings were coming from the host of the program.  I had inadvertently tuned in to Harold Camping as he was discussing the need to “Get right with God” and the impending end of the world.

As I heard him using his failed prediction that 1994 would be the end to justify his firm belief that 2011 would be, my thoughts wandered with a rare determination.  What was I searching for?

It became increasingly clear his radio sermon was a form of abuse we’ve long accepted as a society.  I remember clenching my jaw and glaring at the screen when I first saw Mr. Brocklehurst psychologically assault Jane Eyre in front of a school in the name of Christian ideals.  I felt that same anger rising when I thought of how many people take talk like that from Mr Camping to heart.

This idea that people are inherently lacking and need to be “saved”.  That we need to “get right with God”, when its the other way around entirely (Pandagon):

That said, the kinder, gentler Christian god is still well-likened to a man drunk on male privilege.  He’s not the guy who hits you anymore, no.  Now he’s the guy that doesn’t call you and toys with your emotions.

Believers see, on a regular basis, events they interpret as God punishing them.  They see small “miracles” that they strain to see as coming from God.  Believing in the end times is a daily ritual in believing in spite of broken promises.

The prediction that the world will end in 2011 will fail.  And as Harold made painfully clear on the radio last night, “there are no more dates”.  While I’m sure he’ll find some kind of coping strategy for post 2011 broadcasts, I wonder what this kind of let down will mean to listeners preparing faithfully for the impending rapture.

Even more curious, what will end-times believers be motivated to do over the next 3 years?

8 Responses

  1. “Even more curious, what will end-times believers be motivated to do over the next 3 years?”

    Im guessing they will pester anybody who will listen. But these people think the world is 6000 years old, you cant argue with them.

  2. This kinda reminded me of a funny video.

  3. […] are faithful who believe the end times are coming very soon.  And they are lashing out at the most unlikely scapegoats: The battle goes far beyond the old […]

  4. The date may 21, 2011 for the end of the world is not saying the world is 6000 years. But 13,023 years. Gen 5:3 Adam was 130 when Seth was born and Seth was 105 when Enoch was born. Why does God say how old they are? Because he put a calendar of history in the Bible and it gives us the exact timeline of the world, from the beginning to the end. So this idea that the world will end and I believe it will is based 100% on biblical evidence. Check it out on family radio .com and go to the arcives and look at Echoes and lsiten to the time line of history. Its the easiest time path to follow if you do not read the bible a lot. Bill C

  5. 13K years….yeah right, good luck with that one. Proof that should not take a holy text literally.

  6. brian,
    There must be some way to argue with them, because they will surely act on their beliefs.

    Bill C,
    God and google calendar of one one mind then. Did you see google calendar, bible edition? No dates or exact figures, just ages of people you know. Its great for planning meetings or writing history papers.
    To quote Bill Hicks (in the above video): “Well how fucking scientific!”
    Thanks for the insight into that line of thinking.

    ralfast,
    Isn’t it strange?

  7. Hello everyone,

    I am not a heavy Bible student, but God says the coming of the Son of man will be like Noah’s day and Lot’s day.

    Is Camping and those who believe the Bible re: 5/21/2011 like Noah? I read all the railings given….

  8. […] I ran into a fundamentalist promoting the idea that the world would end in 2011 (his cause seemed awfully familiar).  When I asked him what he planned to do in 2012, his response was “What’s 2012?  […]

Comments are closed.

