America: 48% of Voters Don’t Matter

Commenting over at Ruins of Empire, I worried about the effects of a McCain Presidency on the War in Iraq.  That’s when I realized how infuriated I’d be if he one by a margin, and then went ahead with eternal war like he had some kind of fucking mandate.

Then I remembered 2004.  Bush:51%.  Kerry: 48%.  Rumors of another stolen election aside, look at those numbers.  Half the country clearly didn’t want us going in the direction we are going in.  And yet turning on a crucial 3% of voters, half the voting public was utterly ignored.  Its times like these I wonder about coalition governments and runoff elections to obtain a suitable margin.

We might have another close election in 2008.  Which half of the country won’t count?

