Grab the Nearest Book

XicanoPwr tagged me for a rather interesting meme.  Here are the rules:

The rules are very straightforward and go as follows:

  1. Grab the nearest book (that is at least 123 pages long).
  2. Open to p. 123.
  3. Go down to the 5th sentence.
  4. Type in the following 3 sentences.
  5. Tag five people.

Well, my books are either on my bookcase or lying in a pile on my couch.  The bookcase was closer, so I had my pick.  I chose “The Teenage Liberation Handbook” by Grace Llewellyn.  These three sentences are from an unschooler in Spain:

With the world as it is, there is no other option than to be involved in projects for peace, human rights and ecology.  I have mostly concentrated on ecology.  I’m a member of big groups like Greenpeace, as well as small local groups, and I participate however I can.

I really liked this as a quote.  It provides a lot to think about, and is more than a little galvanizing.  In this world of ours, there is no other option than to act.

Here’s five blogs who are sure to cause trouble and insight with their own take on this meme:   Our Descent Into Madness, US of Jamerica, The Atheocracy, EvilBender, and Undialogue.

4 Responses

  1. […] Told ‘em I finished school, and I started my own business Published February 18, 2008 meta-blogging , religion Tags: reinhold niebuhr I got hit with a meme! […]

  2. […] 18, 2008 at 5:09 pm (books, neat!, sustainability) Fitness for the Occasion has tagged us with a fun little meme. The […]

  3. […] 18, 2008 Posted by Evil Bender in Blogging, Science. trackback Dan at Fitness for the Occasion tagged me with a cool meme: The rules are very straightforward and go as […]

  4. […] words from a random book Well, Dan at Fitness for the Occasion tagged me to try this blogariffic activity and … what the hell, I’m game. Here’s […]

Comments are closed.

