Thinking Blogger Award

Chris at From The Left tagged me for a Thinking Blogger Award! I feel honored, excited, and humbled by the recognition. Doubly so by his description of my blog:

Smart, insightful news analysis with stylish writing.

Weeee! Here is the award:

And here are the rules:

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think,
2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme,
3. Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote (here is an alternative silver version if gold doesn’t fit your blog).

Much like Chris and Mirth, I find that picking only 5 blogs is tough. I could really just point to my blogroll, push a big green “award” button and be very happy with the results. In making my choices, I aimed for blogs that have not yet received the award and cover a wide breadth of issues. Here are my five (in no particular order):

  1. !Para Justicia y Libertad! (xicanopwr): Well researched writing that digs deep into issues of immigration and liberal politics.  He does more than shine light on the problems that fall through the cracks.  He lifts them back out and provides rhetorical sealant.  A first stop for many news stories.
  2. August Pollack (xoverboard): I started reading August through a link from Tom Tomorrow, and have been hooked since. One of the first blogs I read regularly, and with very good reason. August mixes insight, humor and political acumen into a very small space. That concentrated goodness also comes with a frequent side of witty cartoons over easy.
  3. Majikthise (Lindsay Beyerstein): Lindsay brings professional photojournalism and a highly analytic yet accessible style of writing to the table.  Another blogger who catches a lot of substantial news items first.  Together with reasoning forged in philosophy and an eagle’s eye for photography, Majikthise is a daily must-read.
  4. Dennis Perrin: Provides a much needed slap of reality to the progressive movement.  Stoutly anti-corporatism and pro-people, he is a liberal and a radical when everyone else is afraid to be.
  5. Our Descent Into Madness (80Proof: Emily and Daisy): Insightful News, Perspectives and Analysis covering a wide range of progressive issues.  Perhaps the very definition of a blog that makes you think, Emily and Daisy hit stories you’ve never seen before from angles you didn’t know existed.  The result is supremely informative and entertaining reading.

Thanks again to Chris for the award.  And a very big thanks to everyone who stops by to read, talk and think.  Enjoy the links, and also check out the blogroll: they are all blogs that will make you think.

10 Responses

  1. Congratulations. I am new to your blog, but what I have read so far is deserving of the accolade. I’ve added you to my blogroll (thanks for the earlier link) and I will definitely make a point of popping over to read more of your posts.

  2. Thanks korova!
    I’m also new to your blog, and I dig what I see.
    Really good catch.

  3. Congratulations!!! I saw your blog on Christopher’s 5 picks. I am adding you to the Award Blogs section of my roll.

    BTW:Great site I can see why Christopher picked you.

  4. Thanks, and likewise nytexan!
    I can see why Mirth and D-Day picked you. The post on deportation for voting was excellent. And bravo to the Dems for their stance on Cheney’s ridiculous statement!

  5. Thanks. We try hard to cover everything wrong in our country and Texas today. Which is just about everything.

  6. Your award is very deserved, ffto.
    (I happened to have known that you would soon be chosen, so that made our task easier).
    And you have passed it on to blogs that are new to me, so yippee!

  7. Mirth,
    Thanks (and secrets! How exciting! How did you know?)
    Yeah, they are all really great blogs. Some are a bit more big ticket than others, all are excellent reading.

  8. […] first time I got this award was from Nezua, and now by Dan over at Fitness for the Occasion. (Sorry Dan, I know you wanted to pick bloggers who have not been […]

  9. Hey! We were out of the country and missed this when it happened… Thank you!

  10. Sure thing Daisy, and very much deserved!
    I saw that you folks had left, and am looking forward to reading more about those battles with giant scorpions.

Comments are closed.

