The More Problems We Find, The More Hopeful I Become

Every day some new piece of awful is uncovered by the media.  This can be quite discouraging.  Such a reaction to the latest bit of insanity is only natural.  But within each new revelation of everything our country shouldn’t be, is the kernel of everything it can be.

Mirth’s comment is what started me reflecting on this:

The dysfunction in our country is so pervasive, I don’t see much hope for us.

It reminded me of Tai Chi Chuan and Mark Twain.  How odd is that?

When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished at how much the old man had learned in seven years. – Mark Twain (Possibly)

This quote sometimes provokes a smile.  It is obviously the son who has changed.

In Tai Chi, one of (if not the) central goal is relaxation.  You also become gradually more and more sensitive to your own body and your surroundings.  The more you progress, the more tension you become aware of.

What is changing in America is our awareness.  We are becoming increasingly aware of each other, the news, and in particular news that actually matters.  We find small stories that would otherwise have been lost, and it filters up to more and more exposure.  Narratives of torture, abuse, authoritarianism and murderous incompetence move us in the polls.

There are many things that are wrong with this country, and our problems run very deep.

But we have to find those problems to solve them.  And we are.  I find a great deal of hope in this.

It is a sign of progress.

